Homemade fingerpaints

I made these back in September for MJ and Kaydence and they LOVED it.  I was new to the “stay at home mom” thing and was trying to figure out ways to keep them entertained and happy… while giving me a little break.  I would much rather be wiping off their little fingers and helping them paint than battle them all day about screaming, fighting and running all over the house.  This was one of the first, if not the first, crafty thing that we all did together here in Oklahoma and for that reason, the pictures they painted that day are still proudly displayed on my refrigerator :)

When I made these fingerpaints, I had no intention of beginning a blog; therefore, I did not take pictures of every step.  If you need visuals, check out Penniless Parenting— they used the same recipe that I did and they have the pictures you need :)

You will need:

4 tbsp sugar (granulated)

1/2 cup corn starch

2 cups water

Food coloring

Baby food jars (or other small containers)

Directions:

-In a medium sized pan- combine your sugar, corn starch and water.  Mix these ingredients well, ensuring that you remove all of the lumps.  Some people use a fork for this but I prefer a whisk.

-Next, stir your mixture while heating it on high.  DO NOT STOP MIXING.  Your mixture will thicken, remove from heat.

-Divide the mixture you have created amongst your emptied, cleaned and dried baby food jars.  Once you have divided your mixture amongst the jars, add a few drops of food coloring into your jar and mix well.  Add a few more drops until you reach the color you would like.  The lighter your color is INSIDE the jar…the lighter your color will be on the PAPER.

**Make sure to work relatively quickly when adding your colors to the jar…the food coloring combines the best while the mixture is warm.

-Allow your fingerpaints to cool (I let them cool overnight) and have fun :)

4 Comments

Filed under KIDS!

4 responses to “Homemade fingerpaints

  1. I don’t know where I went wrong! I was so anxious to make this and try it! I followed the directions, and let it cool completely. When we went to use it, it was really thick, and wouldn’t work. Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

