Sadness and Mourning

Today I received a call from my grandmother, who I am incredibly close to.  She tried asking me about how my Easter was since we didn’t get to speak to each other on the actual holiday– but I could hear in her voice that she was sad about something.  My grandma ended up telling me that her aunt, my great great aunt, Ruth had passed away today.  While this news was painful and sad enough on its own, hearing the pain in my grandmother’s voice was heartbreaking.  This was her last Aunt and she was almost 90 years old.  My Aunt Ruth was the sweetest woman and always had a smile on her face :)  The last time I saw her was when I graduated high school and she came to the ceremony, almost 10 years ago.  That is her on the left of the photo along with me and my Aunt Gale.

We reconnected over the past few years and I remember her writing in one of my Christmas cards how much she loved that the Christmas cards I always sent her were pictures of my kids <3  I will make sure that my Christmas cards always stay that way :)

I haven’t experienced a death in my family in quite a while and it had scared me for a few years.  I felt as though since I hadn’t had to suffer the loss of anyone in so long that I would start to lose everybody all at once.  This fear may be childish and irrational but it’s very real for me and I worry that I am not going to get to say things to people that I really need to say.  I hope my Aunt Ruth knew how much she was loved and how much she will be missed.  I also hope that my grandma and my aunts find peace and strength in their bond with her and that their sadness can be lifted through all of the great memories that they shared together.

Rest in Peace Aunt Ruth, we love you and will miss you always.

Leave a comment

Filed under DAY TO DAY

Leave a Reply

